Home > Uncategorized > Mumsnet

Mumsnet

The website Mumsnet has been in the news recently. Apparently it is courted by politicians of all persuasions anxious to see what mothers think of their policies on the family. Not being a Mum, I hadn’t paid much attention, but the other day I browsed it out of curiosity. On one of the forums I stumbled across this discusion. The start is:

DD is 10. Tonight she has got out of bed to ask if she has been christened. I explained that no, she hasn’t (DH and I are atheists) and that if she wanted to enter a religion when she is older, she can make her own mind up.
I asked her why she wanted to know, and she said a group called CRIBS had come to her (non-religious) school, and had talked about heaven.
She said they were told that if you were not christened, then when you die you are ‘in limbo’ and cannot go to heaven. She is now really worried about this.
I told her that it’s just their interpretation, and how do we know what the truth is, as no-one has ever come back to prove it! Also reminded her that there are many religions, they can’t all be right!
Is it worth mentioning to the school?

Interesting to see that almost all the respondents were aghast at what was going on. Perhaps, the politicians paying Mumsnet such flattery will take account of opinions like these?

(Incidentally, I Googled CRIBS and they do seem – to my eyes – quite sinsister.)

  1. Martin
    26/02/2011 at 3:45 pm

    My daughter is at a CoE school and I periodically ask her whether any groups have visited the school to “talk” the the children. This was primarily to detect any creationist nonsense. So far so lucky but there again her school doesn’t labour the god stuff too much.

    Don’t suppoe you know what YANBU means?!!!

    • 27/02/2011 at 6:47 am

      I think it means “You are not being unreasonable”. Mumsnet seems to be full of abbreviations (DD, DS, etc) – hope they don’t tut at their kids for using text speech!

      Like you, the school my children are at is CofE (pretty much all local Primaries are that or Catholic). This seems to mean little more than a visit from the vicar once a month. No creationism detected. The school I am hoping to send them to is also CofE and, again, there doesn’t seem to be any creationism pushed there either.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

