Home > Uncategorized > What’s Wrong with this Blog?

What’s Wrong with this Blog?

I’ve been doing this for a while – although I haven’t posted anything for a few weeks – and I’m beginning to get a little frustrated with it. The problem is the need for anonymity.

The posts so far are all of a general nature: my rants and reflections on faith schools in the news. It would be good to have some more anecdotal, amusing stories on the reality of attending church regularly when you don’t believe a word of it. For example, recently one of the congregation passed out during the sermon (it was dull, I grant you, but not that bad). The vicar tried to continue, but the congregation was increasingly distracted. He gave up temporarily and offered prayers for the unfortunate individual – which we were all obliged to join in with. Fortunately, someone else had the presence of mind to call 999 and some para-medics arrived and the patient was taken away. The sermon resumed, but no-one was paying attention. I think a better conclusion might have been to cut it short with Robert Ingersoll’s lines “The hands that help are better far / Than lips that pray”.

However, I need to get the all-important vicar’s signature in the near future. If I post lots of detail, the church I attend – and even I – could be identified. Then I might not get the application approved and all this attendance would have been for nothing.

On the other hand, probably no-one is reading this so perhaps I shouldn’t worry.

Which leads me to ask: What’s Right with this Blog? It’s good therapy for me, that’s what.

  1. Stonyground
    18/01/2010 at 9:12 pm

    Please do not stop blogging. I am, and I am sure many others are, very interested in this issue. I think that the chances of anyone that you know finding this blog and putting two and two together are vanishingly small. If the unthinkable did happen would it not be a brilliant way of bringing the whole issue to everyone’s attention? I do of course realise that you may not be the kind of person who wants to be the focus of a national campaign against faith schools, so I suppose that you must do what is best for you.

  2. 19/01/2010 at 9:30 am

    Thanks for the encouragement. I’ll continue with this and try to give a little more local colour without giving out addresses!

    I’ve no problem with shouting my opposition to faith schools from the roof-tops; I just don’t want my children’s education compromised or their names dragged into it. This raises the question of how much I should tell them about why we are going to church and what I believe…. Might post on that too.

  3. someone
    06/06/2010 at 10:40 am

    Well, there are two tactics I can think of:
    1. Save stuff for later
    2. Make stuff up

    2. might seem problematic, but if you add, subtract and modify less important details, it will be less clear who you are. Writing about things that happened some time ago as though they just happened makes it more ambiguous, too, since it’s likely such things have happened in the last year (or whatever) within a fairly large number of different congregations, particularly if they are somehow typical.

    For inspiration, see Private Eye (some of the spoof bits) and maybe Adrian Plass (you can probably find one of these for pennies on the church book stall).

    • 07/06/2010 at 12:25 pm

      Those are both good points. I have changed a few details in things I have mentioned – anything where it might look too specific. As you say, a lot of similar things happen in Churches all over the country. They all follow the same service (I think!), all have a vicar officiating, they probably all have a Church Fete.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

